library logo

Want to learn more about using digital tools? Not sure where to get started with a research paper? Managing a project feels more like a mystery? Kingsport Public Library is now partnering with Grow with Google to deliver virtual computer classes to the community. Brush up on digital tools or learn to use new ones. These are useful skills for job seekers, small business owners, students or anyone that wants to become more comfortable using digital tools.

The first series of classes, beginning August 4, covers how to use digital tools for everyday tasks. The second series of classes, beginning September 8, covers how to write using online research. The last series of classes, beginning October 20, covers how to manage a project with digital tools. Google Classroom is being used to provide the lessons. Attendance at all of the series is not required, so feel free to select the series that will be the most useful to you.

Sign up by calling the library at 423-224-2539 or go online to the events calendar at https://www.kingsportlibrary.org/ and click on Events. Make sure to provide an e-mail address to receive class login information.

Using Digital Tools for Everyday Tasks
Class 1 (Tuesday, August 4 @ 3:00 p.m.): Create a Google Account
Class 2 (Tuesday, August 11 @ 3:00 p.m.): Record and Share Ideas for Things to Do
Class 3 (Tuesday, August 18 @ 3:00 p.m.): Search for Activities
Class 4 (Tuesday, August 25 @ 3:00 p.m.): Email Your Friend or Classmate
Class 5 (Tuesday, September 1 @ 3:00 p.m.): Personalize Emails and Manage Your Inbox

Write Using Online Research
Class 6 (Tuesday, September 8 @ 3:00 p.m.): Plan Your Paper
Class 7 (Tuesday, September 15 @ 3:00 p.m.): Assess Source Credibility
Class 8 (Tuesday, September 22 @ 3:00 p.m.): Pre-Write
Class 9 (Tuesday, September 29 @ 3:00 p.m.): Write a Draft
Class 10 (Tuesday, October 6 @ 3:00 p.m.): Revise
Class 11 (Tuesday, October 13 @ 3:00 p.m.): Publish Your Work

Manage a Project with Digital Tools
Class 12 (Tuesday, October 20 @ 3:00 p.m.): Create a Project Charter
Class 13 (Tuesday, October 27 @ 3:00 p.m.): Track a Project Using a Spreadsheet
Class 14 & 15 (Tuesday, November 3 @ 3:00 p.m. & Tuesday, November 10 @ 3:00 p.m.): Create a Budget in a Spreadsheet
Class 16 & 17 (Tuesday, November 17 @ 3:00 p.m. & Tuesday, November 24 @ 3:00 p.m.): Present a Progress Report