The City of Kingsport’s government is based upon the Council-Manager form of government. This form of government was established in 1917 when the City was re-incorporated into what is now known as the modern city of Kingsport.

The City is governed by a seven member Board of Mayor and Aldermen, elected at-large and on a non-partisan basis for four-year staggered terms. The exception to this rule is that the Mayor is elected at-large for a two year term. Elections are held in May during odd numbered years. The new Board of Mayor and Alderman is seated on 1 July of each election year.

The current Board of Mayor and Aldermen is comprised of the following individuals: Mayor John Clark, Vice Mayor Mike McIntire, Alderman Colette George, Alderman Tommy Olterman, and Alderman Jennifer Axsom Adler, Alderman Betsy Cooper and Alderman Joe Begley.

To contact the Board of Mayor & Aldermen please call 423-229-9412.

John Clark, City of Kingsport Mayor

John Clark, Mayor

Term Expires June 30, 2019

Mike McIntire, City of Kingsport Vice Mayor

Mike McIntire, Vice Mayor

Term expires June 30, 2019

Alderman Jennifer Adler

Jennifer Axsom Adler, Alderman

Term expires June 30, 2021

Joe Begley

Joe Begley, Alderman

Term expires June 30, 2019

Alderman_Betsy Cooper

Betsy Cooper, Alderman

Term expires June 30, 2021

Colette George, Alderman

Term expires June 30, 2021

Tommy Olterman, City of Kingsport Alderman

Tommy Olterman, Alderman

Term expires June 30, 2019