KINGSPORT – Kingsport Fire Departments (KFD) Accreditation Committee and members of the Board of Mayor and Alderman met with a Fire Service Peer Assessment Team this week for review and recommendations toward the KFDs Accreditation with the Commission on Fire Accreditation International (CFAI). The KFD will receive the final results in August of this year at Fire Rescue International in San Antonio, Texas.

The Peer Assessment Team consisted of Chief Mike Stallings, Rock Mount (NC) Fire Department (retired), Chief Matt Knott, Rockford (IL) Fire Department, Chief Andrew Ansley, Monroe (NC) Fire Department and Chief Josh Smith, Statesville (NC) Fire Department.

The CFAI confers Accredited Agency status for a period of five years, during which an agency must submit four Annual Compliance Reports to demonstrate their continued compliance with core performance indicators and report on progress in executing their plans for improvement. The Commission determines if the reports are acceptable and the agency may retain its accredited status. At the end of the fifth year, an Accredited Agency must seek reaccreditation and successfully complete the peer review process to remain accredited.

Currently the Kingsport Fire Department is one of only four fire departments in the state of Tennessee and was one of the first 40 in the world recognized as an Accredited Agency through the Center for Public Safety Excellence Commissions Fire Accreditation International. Brentwood (TN) Fire & Rescue, City of Maryville (TN) Fire Department, and the City of Alcoa Fire Department are the other agencies in Tennessee.

Kingsport Fire Departments (KFD) Accreditation Committee Members:
Chief Craig Dye
Assistant Chief Scott Boyd
Deputy Chief David Chase
Deputy Chief Darrell Hayes
Deputy Chief Jim Everhart
Fire Marshal Robert Sluss
Senior Captain Joel Jones
Captain Max Bear
Captain Jessie Bishop
Captain Chris Lowe
Captain David Mitchell
Captain Ben Wexler
Assistant Fire Marshal Chris Vandagriff
Public Education Officer Barry Brickey
Executive Secretary Alison Shaffer