KFD and BMA meet with Fire Accreditation Team


KINGSPORT – Kingsport Fire Departments (KFD) Accreditation Committee and members of the Board of Mayor and Alderman met with a Fire Service Peer Assessment Team this week for review and recommendations toward the KFDs Accreditation with the Commission on Fire Accreditation International (CFAI). The KFD will receive the final results in August of this year at Fire Rescue International in San Antonio, Texas.

The Peer Assessment Team consisted of Chief Mike Stallings, Rock Mount (NC) Fire Department (retired), Chief Matt Knott, Rockford (IL) Fire Department, Chief Andrew Ansley, Monroe (NC) Fire Department and Chief Josh Smith, Statesville (NC) Fire Department.

The CFAI confers Accredited Agency status for a period of five years, during which an agency must submit four Annual Compliance Reports to demonstrate their continued compliance with core performance indicators and report on progress in executing their plans for improvement. The Commission determines if the reports are acceptable and the agency may retain its accredited status. At the end of the fifth year, an Accredited Agency must seek reaccreditation and successfully complete the peer review process to remain accredited.

Currently the Kingsport Fire Department is one of only four fire departments in the state of Tennessee and was one of the first 40 in the world recognized as an Accredited Agency through the Center for Public Safety Excellence Commissions Fire Accreditation International. Brentwood (TN) Fire & Rescue, City of Maryville (TN) Fire Department, and the City of Alcoa Fire Department are the other agencies in Tennessee.

Kingsport Fire Departments (KFD) Accreditation Committee Members:

Chief Craig Dye

Assistant Chief Scott Boyd

Deputy Chief David Chase

Deputy Chief Darrell Hayes

Deputy Chief Jim Everhart

Fire Marshal Robert Sluss

Senior Captain Joel Jones

Captain Max Bear

Captain Jessie Bishop

Captain Chris Lowe

Captain David Mitchell

Captain Ben Wexler

Assistant Fire Marshal Chris Vandagriff

Public Education Officer Barry Brickey

Executive Secretary Alison Shaffer